Print Friendly

Home Safety Firearms/CPL Training and Hunter Safety Classes

HOME SAFETY FIREARMS/CPL TRAINING & REFRESHER

Course description

Home Safety Firearms/CPL Training is a community service course designed to accommodate a wide range of experience, from the beginner who has never handled a handgun, to the experienced shooter. The course has been certified by the Michigan Commission on Law Enforcement Standards to meet the CPL civilian training requirements of Public Act 381; however, completion of the course does not in any way guarantee that the participant will be granted a permit to carry a concealed weapon.

Attendance

Participants must attend a total of 12 hours: 8 hours classroom and 4 hours range. (NOTE: PA 381 requires a minimum 11 hours of training; however, our course is designed to be more comprehensive than the minimum. A certificate will be issued for our program only after the trainee attends the full 12 hours.)

Refresher

Participants whose certification has not expired prior to a scheduled refresher course, may attend the 4 hour range portion and the 2 hour legal portion (if preferred) of the Home Safety Firearms/CPL Training for a cost of $60 per person, payable to Kirtland Community College. A certificate will be issued for our refresher program only after proof of current certification and after the trainee attends a minimum of 4 hours of range time.

What you need

Participants may bring their own guns but are not required to do so, as a variety of handguns will be provided for use in class. You may want to bring a sack lunch, as the campus cafeteria is closed on Saturdays and the firearms range is some distance from the nearest restaurant. Also, you will need to dress for the weather on range day, as the shooting is all outdoors.  Protection for eyes and ears is also required for range day.

Location

Classroom training is on the Kirtland campus. Range training is conducted at Kirtland’s Firing Range (across from the main campus).

Registration and fees

The Home Safety Firearms and the Refresher are non-credit classes. The cost is $125 per person, payable to Kirtland Community College. Senior Citizen Discount: If you are age 60 or older, you qualify for a 15% discount. After discount, your cost is $106.25.

2014 upcoming dates and times

Dates to be determined

CPL Flyer With Upcoming Dates (pdf)

To register

To register, click here for a printable application/registration form.  Please indicate for which session you wish to register. Upon completing the form, please mail it with your payment and a photocopy of your driver license (for senior citizen discount only) to: Kirtland Community College, Careers in Emergency Services Office, 10775 N. St. Helen Road, Roscommon, Michigan  48653.

Or, you may contact the Public Safety Office at (989)275-5000 ext 348 or by email at cps@kirtland.edu.

HUNTER SAFETY CLASSES

Course description

Hunter Safety Education courses teach new hunters responsibility, ethics, firearm safety, wildlife conservation and wildlife identification, game care, survival and first aid.  The typical hunter education course consists of two to five sessions with a total class time of 10 to 12 hours.  The hunter education course is not intended to be all there is to know about hunting, nor does it meet the Concealed Pistol License (CPL) education requirements.

Attendance

Participants should be 10 years of age or older and must attend a total of 10 hours.  A certificate will be issued for our program only if the trainee attends the full 10 hours and passes all portions of the course.

What you need

Classroom day – participants should bring a notepad & pencil as well as a sack lunch as the campus cafeteria is not open on Saturday and the college is some distance from the nearest restaurant.  Range day – participants will need to dress for the weather as shooting is all outdoors.  Protection for eyes and ears is also required for range day.

Location

Classroom training is on the Kirtland campus. Range training is conducted at Kirtland’s Firing Range (across from the main campus).

Registration and Fees

Hunter Safety Education is a non-credit class. Cost is free.

Class Dates

Dates to be determined (9:00 a.m. to 3:00 p.m.)

For more information

Please contact the Public Safety Office at (989)275-5000 ext 348 or by email at cps@kirtland.edu.