Print Friendly

Kirtland Announces Nursing Honor Society Inductees

Officials at Kirtland Community College recognized 12 registered nursing (RN) students as inductees to a new nursing honor society this week.  Kirtland’s Phi Chapter of the Alpha Delta Nu Nursing Honor Society was successfully charted by the National Organization for Associate Degree Nursing (N-OADN) in 2012 and these exceptional students represent the first chapter inductees at Kirtland.

Nursing Honor Society Induction Ceremony

Nursing Honor Society Induction Ceremony

During a ceremony attended by inductees and their families, Kirtland health science faculty members recognized the hard work, dedication and commitment to nursing exhibited by these inductees.  “Your schooling may be almost complete, but remember that your education still continues,” shared instructor Nancy Pavelek.  “Your desire to learn and pursuit of knowledge will culminate in quality patient care ad that is, after all, the goal of nursing practice.”

The nursing and health sciences faculty worked diligently on behalf of the students and the college to fulfill the requirements needed to form an honor society charter.  “We appreciate your hard work and your commitment to your students, your peers, and Associate Degree Nursing,” said N-OADN representative Harriet McClung upon informing Kirtland of being successfully chartered as the Phi Chapter of the Alpha Delta Nu Honor Society.

To qualify for the honor society membership, candidates must:

  • Have a 3.0 overall GPA
  • Have attained and maintained a 3.0 GPA in all nursing courses
  • Have demonstrated conduct on campus and in the clinical areas that rflect integrity and professionalism


Inductees received an honor society pin and cords to be worn at their commencement and formal nursing pinning ceremonies.

Inductee’s List

Stacey Doyle (National City)

Tammy Brandt (Harrisville)

Amy McClelland (Houghton Lake)

Rebecca Jakubowski (West Branch)

Lisa Fritz (West Branch)

Jody Montague (West Branch)

Dean Guoan (Whittemore)

Renee Wojdan (Frederic)

Theresa Maliskey (AuGres)

Christine Suiter (Atlanta)

Charlett Hanson (East Jordan)

Kelly Stosio (Rapid City)


Annually, more than 3,000 students attend a variety of health science, occupational, skilled trades, two-year and transfer degree programs at Kirtland’s locations near Roscommon, Kirtland-Gaylord, Kirtland-West Branch and in Tawas.  Kirtland also offers a wide range of online courses and degrees, all of which can be completed from home.


To learn more about the programs, advising, testing, financial aid and other services available to students, contact 989-275-5000, extension 258. For more information on Kirtland Community College, contact Sarah Madonna, Director of Public Information, at 989-275-5000 ext. 242, or visit our website at