Print Friendly


Scholarships are constantly updated. Please visit this page often!

last updated on 2/25/2015

Institutional Scholarships

Check back for the 2015-2016 academic year.

Foundation Scholarships

Foundation scholarships can be found on the Kirtland Foundation website.

Local/Regional External Scholarships

Tolfree Foundation Scholarships (various amounts)

The Tolfree Foundation is proud to announce that applications for scholarships are now available. The following scholarships are awarded by the Tolfree Foundation: WBRMC Medical Staff Scholarships, Lucille Schwartz Scholarships, Tolfree Foundation Scholarships and the Paul A. Poling Memorial Fund Scholarships. Applicants must be accepted as an approved student in a health care field of study at an accredited educational institution. Applicant’s primary residence MUST be in the John Tolfree Health System’s service areas (West Branch, Rose City, Mio, Prescott, Alger, AuGres, Whittemore, Hale, St. Helen, Roscommon, Prudenville, Gladwin, Tawas, and Houghton Lake).

Scholarship Requirements and Application

Application Deadline: March 13, 2015

Michigan Retailers Association 2015/2016 $1,000 Scholarships (at least 34 to be awarded)

The Michigan Retailers Association (MRA) has launched its scholarship competition for the 2015-2016 school year. At least 34 $1,000 scholarships are expected to be awarded. The awards are not based on financial need. To be eligible, the student or his/her parent must be employed at a business that is a member of MRA. Click on the link below for further details about eligibility requirements and the online application.

Scholarship Eligibility Requirements and Application

Application Deadline: April 1, 2015

Buckfire & Buckfire, P.C. 2015 Student Disability Scholarship ($1,000)

Buckfire & Buckfire, P.C. ( offers a $1,000.00 scholarship which is available to students with any type of disability, including but not limited to physical disabilities, medical conditions, mental and psychiatric conditions, speech and language, learning disabilities, behavioral conditions, and all other conditions. All students are encouraged to apply even if they are not sure if they meet the disability criteria. Applicants must be a U.S. citizen, be enrolled at and have completed at least one semester of classes at an accredited college or university, have a minimum 3.0 GPA, and have a disability diagnosis from any person qualified to make a diagnosis.

Scholarship Application and Details

Application Deadline: April 1, 2015

Tawas Elks $750 Community College Scholarship (2 to be awarded)

The Tawas Area Elks Lodge #2525 Community College Scholarship is open to any high school senior from the following high schools: Alpena, Arenac Eastern, AuGres Sims, Hale, Lincoln-Alcona, Oscoda, Standish-Sterling, Tawas Area, and Whittemore-Prescott. The student must be attending Kirtland Community College during the 2015-16 academic school year. $750 scholarships will be awarded to the top male and top female applicants.

Scholarship Application and Details

Application Deadline: April 30, 2015

Gerrish-Higgins/Roscommon Alumni Association $1,000 Scholarship

The Gerrish-Higgins/Roscommon Alumni Association offers scholarships to Roscommon High School graduates whose parent, grandparent, or legal guardian also attended Gerrish-Higgins/Roscommon High School.

Scholarship Application and Details

Application Deadline: None as applications are accepted throughout the year.  (However to be recognized at Awards Night the deadline is April 30, 2015.)

Transfer Scholarships

Many colleges and universities offer transfer scholarship. Check with the Admissions or Financial Aid Office of the school you are transferring to. 

National External Scholarships $500 Scholarship Essay Contest (4 to be awarded) has launched their first, annual essay contest. There will be four winners, each receiving a $500 scholarship to help make earning a degree in nursing just a little bit easier. The topic of your 100-200 word essay is up to you. You’re free to add a video and a picture or two. Just be sure your essay is accurate, truthful, and inspired. The essay will be judged based on grammar, creativity, and originality. Applicants must be a citizen of the United States, be at least 18 years old (at the time of disbursement) and be enrolled in a nursing program.

Scholarship Application and Details

Application Deadlines (4 per year): December 31, 2014; March 31, 2015; June 30, 2015; & September 30, 2015 $1,500 Spring 2015 Scholarship is awarding a need-based scholarship of $1,500 to college students. We at Hotelscheap understand that financing your education can be difficult; as a result we would like to lend a hand. To apply for the scholarship, he or she must answer four personal, open-ended, and thought-provoking questions. The students whose responses are the most persuasive, compelling, and well-written, as judged by our executive management team will be considered finalists. Applicants must be at last 16 years of age and be residents of the United States.

Scholarship Application and Details

Application Deadline: April 15, 2015

A Place for Mom $1,000 Scholarship (5 to be awarded)

A Place for Mom is proud to offer their annual $1,000 scholarship to college students interested in the fields of aging and gerontology. Students must be enrolled in an associates’ degree or bachelor’s degree program in a medical, nursing or social sciences related major. The student must be planning on pursuing a career that involves working with senior citizens. The applicant must be attending classes at an accredited college or university at the time of the spring deadline. Further eligibility requirements and scholarship details are available at the link below.

Scholarship Essay Topic and Details

Application Deadline: April 15, 2015

Scholarships for NursingScholarships for Nursing
CampusRN has $15,000 in Scholarships Available to Nursing & Allied Health Students.

CampusRN has launched a new scholarship program in conjunction with the creation of the CampusRN state edition network. This nationwide scholarship program is the most comprehensive of its kind for nursing programs and nursing students because it features scholarship winners from six different regions across the country in which CampusRN has launched state edition sites. CampusRN will award six $2500 scholarships to a needy and deserving nursing student in each region.

Scholarship Application and Details

Application Deadline: May 1, 2015 $2,000 2015 Future of Assisted Living Scholarship (2 to be awarded), the premier ratings and review site for senior services providers nationwide, is proud to announce their second annual scholarship for advancement in higher education. Two $2,000 scholarships are available to students enrolled in an associate’s degree, bachelor’s degree or graduate level program at an accredited 2-year college or 4-year university. Each eligible student must submit a 500-750 word essay response to the question: How can your major of study improve the lives of seniors in assisted living facilities in your town? The full details are available at the link below.

Scholarship Details and Essay Topic

Application Deadline: December 31, 2015

Scholarship Search Engines